Supervisory Board

The Supervisory Board oversees the Achmea Bank Managing Board and gives advice. The powers and responsibilities of the Supervisory Board are described in the articles of association (Dutch only) and the Supervisory Board by-laws (Dutch only).

The composition of the Supervisory Board

The composition of the Supervisory Board is such as to enable it to perform its duties properly. For appointment or reappointment to the Board, candidates must satisfy the criteria as described in in the Supervisory Board Profile (Dutch only). Compliance with this profile provides assurances that the Board possesses the necessary knowledge and experience.

Members of the Supervisory Board

Achmea Bank's Supervisory Board has four members who complement each other well, in terms of background, knowledge, experience and responsibilities. All the members have extensive experience in the financial sector. They accordingly possess a good understanding of the role of a bank in society and are capable of making balanced assessments of the interests of all our stakeholders.

Retirement schedule

A supervisory board member is appointed for a term of four years. Reappointment only takes place after careful consideration and is possible only twice, each time for a tenure of four years. Reappointment depends on different factors. Due consideration is given to the profile of the Supervisory Board, the performance of the relevant individual and the length of tenure.

Retirement dates and eligibility for reappointment as member of the Supervisory Board of Achmea Bank are shown below for the individual members of the Board.
Naam First appointed Most recently appointed Term of office expires Ultimate retirement
Henny te Beest 18-11-2015 18-11-2019 18-11-2023 18-11-2027
Miriam van Dongen 23-12-2020 23-12-2020 23-12-2024 23-12-2032
Huub Arendse 01-08-2017 01-08-2021 01-08-2025 01-08-2029
Daphne de Kluis 12-10-2021 12-10-2021 12-10-2025 12-10-2033



Huub Arendse (1958)

Member of the Supervisory Board since 1 August 2017 and is the Chairman since 1 January 2018.

Mr Arendse is a qualified chartered accountant since 1985. After earning his Economics degree at the University of Amsterdam he began his career at Peat Marwick Netherlands, which later formed KPMG. Mr Arendse headed KPMG Financial Services from 2003 to 2007.

Mr. Arendse was a member of the Executive Board of Achmea from 1 April 2013 until 1 April 2017 where he held the position of Chief Financial Officer. Before joining Achmea, Mr Arendse was also a member of the Global Insurance Leadership team of KPMG International.

Mr. Arendse was also a member of the Financial-Economic Affairs Committee of the Dutch Association of Insurers, IRSG (Insurers and Reinsurers Stakeholders Group) and AMICE.


Miriam van Dongen

Member of the Supervisory Board since December 23, 2020.

She is also a member of the Supervisory Board of the Achmea Group, Achmea Schadeverzekeringen N.V. and Achmea Pensioen- & Levensverzekeringen N.V.

Miriam van Dongen has extensive experience in the financial sector. As a professional supervisory director she is affiliated with PGGM and Optiver, among others. Before that, she was CFO at Achmea Zorg (2007-2009) and held various management positions at Delta Lloyd. Miriam van Dongen studied Business Economics at Tilburg University.


Henny te Beest (1950)

Member of the Supervisory Board since 18 November 2015.

Mr te Beest is a certified Public Accountant and a registered EDP auditor. He began his career at the Dutch Ministry of Defence, where he had the rank of lieutenant colonel.

Subsequently, his appointments have included CFO of Amsterdam Trade Bank, CFO of Staalbankiers, CFO of Achmea Bank and CFO of Achmea Hypotheekbank, Operations Manager at Van der Hoop Effektenbank and Head of Control at the Amsterdam Stock Exchange and Stichting Toezicht Effectenverkeer.

He has also held various other offices including teaching posts, as well as examiner at the University of Amsterdam and the Nyenrode Business University, a seat on the Board of Governors of Raphael Stichting and Chairman of the regional branch of the Dutch accountants association NIvRA in Noord-Holland.


Daphne de Kluis

Member of the Supervisory Board since 12 Oktober 2021.

Daphne de Kluis joined ABN AMRO in 1998. After holding various roles at Commercial Clients and Corporate & Institutional Banking she became Global Head of Debt Solutions in 2009 and Global Head of Financial Restructuring & Recovery in 2013. In 2017 she was appointed CEO of Commercial Banking and joined the Executive Committee of ABN AMRO.

Daphne de Kluis studied Labor and Organizational Psychology at the University of Amsterdam. She is a member of the Supervisory Boards of Euronext Amsterdam and of Stadsherstel Amsterdam.